What Owns Me

Documenting My Piles Of Stuff

Welcome To What Owns Me

with 4 comments

IMAG2403

Welcome! However you found me, thanks for checking out the site.

The Philosophy Of What Owns Me: We think that we own our possessions. And in a simple transactional way, we do. But the real truth is that THEY own US. We seek, buy and organize them. When we move, they come too. We talk, think, care, and worry about them. Most importantly, we enjoy them. All of this time, energy and money spent in service to them. THEY own US.

So, this site contains everything that owns me, in handy lists (with links to more info). Why? Because I have so much stuff, it will help keep ME organized. Because if the house ever burns down, I can prove what I owned. Because I’m a collector geek and a list like this just pleases me greatly. Etc and so on.

I’ll be including music (CDs, vinyl, cassettes, official MP3s), concerts, books, books read, and movies. KMA links are to my own reviews. Content will be constantly updated, and reviewed as I get to it… Please check back often. I hope the tons of work all of this entails will make it worth your while.

And yep, that CD box up there is 4′ x 8′, hand-made by myself and my Dad. Lookin’ like it’s time to build another one, already…

NB. In all sections:
* [mike], [james], [scott], [craig] - gifts from these generous people
* [mlw] = from the collection of my lovely wife
* [gbv] = in some way related to guided by voices, robert pollard, etc
Written by whatownsme

January 1, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the Stones set up top.

    mikeladano

    January 2, 2014 at 7:37 am

    • It certainly is eye-catching! Yep, that one covered 1971 Sticky Fingers through to 1989 Steel Wheels, with the bonus Collector’s Edition CD (pink cover) in it as well! That was my first-ever box-set, a gift from my Mom. She told me I’m never allowed to sell it. As if I would.

      isaacandsophie

      January 2, 2014 at 8:41 am

      • I remember seeing it in my store and it sure was a thing of beauty. Always in demand. That bonus CD had rare B-sides on it. Certainly not all of them from that period but enough to make it sought.

        mikeladano

        January 2, 2014 at 4:59 pm

      • I have been religiously hitting up record shops in every city I visit for years. I’ve only seen that Collectors Edition disc once, by itself. And never did see the box.

        Well, as you can imagine in a 4’x8′ space, there are tons of other goodies in there too… hence the need for this site! AND that box doesn’t take in all the vinyls, or the books, or the DVDs…

        isaacandsophie

        January 2, 2014 at 6:00 pm


Leave a Reply

